The Five Constructs of Philosophy

By Zulumathabo Zulu © 2015

The Basotho system of philosophical thinking is comprised of five constructs (1) Koma, (2) Masene, (3) Sekaseko, (4) Nahanotsebo and (5) Kanamotwa as referenced in the Sesotho Dictionary of Mathematics. In the English language these are namely (1) truth, (2) wisdom, (3) analysis, (4) knowledge, and (5) ethics. Using set theory, we generate the following set and its elements:

Nahanosene {truth, wisdom, analysis, knowledge, ethics}

Looking at this set, one might ask where is logic? Logic exists as a subset of truth with respect to the epistemic system of the Basotho. The modern Basotho speakers might also wonder how come I used the word Koma instead of the word Nnete. This is because Koma is a more scholarly concept than Nnete in accordance with the Mophato and Bongaka systems of higher education, which preexisted the advent of colonization. In other words Nnete is a subset of Koma. It is noteworthy that knowledge is not a complete translation.

The Sesotho construct Nahanotsebo translates into “Theoretical knowledge” but for purposes of brevity, the theoretical part was left out. The important observation is that the Basotho distinguish between theoretical knowledge Nahanotsebo and concrete knowledge Tsebokato or Tsebo Ya Mokato something that will prove instrumental in our thought processing while developing a transcendental mind.

We now list the constructs and their definitions starting with the truth of Koma.

This exerpt from The Sacred Knowledge of the Desert: African Philosophical Transcendence. You must get the book to read more about the philosophical constructs of the Basotho.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s